Unbroken

by kmdbookworm

unbrokenLast night I finished Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. I’ve been slacking on reading lately, so I was really happy to pick up a book to plow through. I couldn’t put it down. It’s the true story of Louie Zamperini. An Olympian, soldier, POW, son, husband and father, Louie suffered unspeakable things during WWII. What probably hooks everyone on this book when they read it is his spirit and faith. Through horrors beyond the imagination, he never gives up. The power of the human spirit is often taken for granted. We can endure and travel through horrible things and while we may not be as whole as we once were when we reach the other side, we can survive.

When things get tough, I am going to think of Louie and his indomitable spirit. I definitely think Unbroken is worthy of all the praise it has received. Hillenbrand takes Louie’s story and treats it with all the care and truth it deserves. She doesn’t shy away from writing the hardest parts and makes sure all those who suffered alongside Louie also get their story told. I had no idea how brutally prisoners of the Japanese were treated, and Hillenbrand opened my eyes not only to Louie’s story, but to the stories of all POWs.

