I Was Made for Sunny Days

by kmdbookworm

 

Haven’t updated in a while. Life’s been busy lately, mostly in very good ways.

But I wanted to write about something that’s been on my mind today. Actually, two someones who equal a band. My favorite band. Deb Talan and Steven Tannen make up The Weepies, an indie pop-folk duo. I discovered The Weepies sometime in college, around 2007-2008. I fell in love with them. With their sad songs, their happy songs, their incredible lyrics and the overall hopeful and happy message they send out into the world with their music.

Then something devastating happened: Early this year Deb was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer. It was a blow to me. I kept waiting for a new album for them to drop and then came this news. Cancer’s the worst, isn’t it? Doesn’t matter who you are or how old you are. Everyone knows someone who has had cancer — some have survived and some haven’t. It’s a scary thing, something none of us can control.

But it doesn’t surprise me that Deb and Steve (who have three young boys) are taking this challenge in stride. Deb is in chemo, but despite it all, they are keeping their fans informed of her progress and it shows that they are trying their hardest to stay positive. I can’t help but think that they are fighting this with all the hope and love that they fill their music with.

I sent a tweet earlier today about listening to them and having Deb in my thoughts, and they so kindly replied saying she is doing well and they are hopeful she’ll be out of the woods soon.

I don’t know Deb or Steve, and it’s hard to put into words what their music means to me, but it means a lot. I turn to The Weepies on sunny days and rainy days. On the days when the sun shines and everything is going right, and on the days when it’s hard to get out of bed in the morning. I hope they are back to making music very soon, and I can’t wait to hear what they do next.

Get well soon, Deb.

