Books that bring on the weeping

by kmdbookworm

I always say that I love a good cry. And it’s true. I cry at a lot of things. Online videos, books, TV shows, movies and the occasional commercial.

But there’s no cry better than a book reading cry. The kind where you know you can’t read it in public because snot and freaking out other people. The sort of cry that makes wet spots on the pages as you move to turn them (always preferable to get books with the potential for waterworks in paperback for this reason.)

Sometimes a book make you cry because a character you love dies. Sometimes it makes you cry because it relates so closely to something you’ve been through, or something you yearn for. And sometimes you cry because it’s sad. Period. Occasionally I’ll pick up a book because I know it will make me cry, and I am just in need of a cathartic sob.

The other day The Guardian posted an article asking people to tell them what books make them cry.

A few books that brought on the waterworks for me include: John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars (which should make most people at least she a tear, unless they are made of steel), Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity, Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief and Khaled Hosseini’s Kite Runner.

There have been many more, but those are the ones that popped into my head when I saw The Guardian article.

What books turn you into a sob monster?

