Finding the (right) time to read

by kmdbookworm

I am an avid reader. Probably more avid than most and less avid than some. I average about 2-3 books a month. And I would probably be able to read even more. Except for my job.

In general jobs get in the way of reading, not that we don’t enjoy them or need them to feed ourselves. But if I didn’t have to go to work I could read all day every day, with breaks for eating and napping. Wouldn’t that be the life?

But I need to earn a living, and leaving my apartment is nice, too. Also, I like my job. But the catch is, I am a copy editor. So all day, every day I am in front of a computer for 8 or more hours straight correcting facts and grammar and making sentences make sense. When I get home from work around 8:30 p.m. my brain has had it with words. It’s just DONE. And some days I get out earlier, usually Thursdays, but even then sometimes I just can’t read another word on the screen or even on paper.

I think if I had a job with earlier hours and less reading and editing involved I’d be more prone to reading in the evenings. As it is, some nights I have enough energy left in my eyes and brain to pick up a book, and some nights I don’t.

I’m not yet near ready for a career change, but I hope the warmer weather will compel me to take my work weary eyes and enjoy the sunshine with a good book. Maybe I just need a change of scenery.

