Year of nonfiction and the reread

by kmdbookworm

Last year my reading goal was 50 books. Mission completed.

This year, I have two goals: Read more nonfiction and reread some of my favorite works.

So far out of the five books I’ve read so far, two have been nonfiction. So a good start there. I read Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney, about her loveless life and disasters in dating (girl is basically me, with more awkwardness.) And Stephen King’s On Writing, which as a budding novelist I really took to heart and found helpful. I have a feeling I’m going to need to reread this one a few times as I work on my novel.

I do, however, need to pick up the pace on my rereading. There aren’t a ton of books I want to reread, but those coupled with more nonfiction and the fiction sitting in wait on my bookshelves means I need to divide my time wisely.

But The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett was one of the ones I wanted to reread the most, and I just finished doing so. At almost 1,000 pages, it was probably good to tackle it early on. One thing I realized while reading it was that even the little writing I have done so far has made me look at writing differently. While I still loved the book and Follett’s storytelling ability and characters, he repeats often and could have used a harsher editor. The book didn’t have to be 1,000 pages, a tough edit may have trimmed it at least down to 800 or so. But even with Follett’s penchant for reminding us of things we already know, the tale is epic and the characters compelling. Love sweeping historical fiction full of well-written characters, thrilling action and a bit of romance? Then The Pillars of the Earth is for you.

