Lena Dunham inks $3.5M book deal

by kmdbookworm

Yup, that’s right, at 26 years old, Lena Dunham, through a deal with Random House, will get more than $3.5 million for her collection of essays “Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s Learned.”

I’ll admit though, I think this book will be a big hit, just as Dunham’s HBO show “Girls” is. I’ve watched “Girls” and while I am not in love with it, I do really like it. It’s a show for a very specific audience, but an audience that needs a voice like Dunham’s — she speaks for those of us in our 20s and early 30s, those trying to figure out how to be grownups in an ever-changing world. Plus, Dunham is funny and blunt. I like blunt comedians.

I haven’t read Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” or Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns),” though I probably should. I think Dunham’s book will be similar to those comedians’, but possibly the one I can relate to the most.

I’m looking forward to it, it’s rare that a book can make me laugh out loud, and I am hoping Dunham can do the trick.

