Moby-Dick Big Read

by kmdbookworm

Ever wanted to read “Moby-Dick,” but were intimidated by its length? I know I sure was. But now there’s a new project under way called Moby-Dick Big Read, which according to the website, is “an online version of [Herman] Melville’s magisterial tome: each of its 135 chapters read out aloud, by a mixture of the celebrated and the unknown, to be broadcast online in a sequence of 135 downloads, publicly and freely accessible.”

Awesome, right?

This I will definitely be checking out. I don’t often listen to audio versions of a book, call me a purist but I think the point of a book is to *read* it, but this is such a fun and unique idea that maybe it will change my mind about audio versions of books. And also help me to knock out a novel that’s been on my to-read list for years and years.

