Happy birthday … to me!

by kmdbookworm

Today, as a birthday present to myself, I stopped by Barnes and Noble and picked up a copy of Michael Chabon’s “Telegraph Avenue,” which just came out today. As well as a copy of Katherine Boo’s highly acclaimed nonfiction novel “Behind the Beautiful Forevers.”

Originally I was going to get the Chabon book and Junot Diaz’s “This Is How You Lose Her.” But while I am a fan of Diaz’s writing style, I realized reading a book of stories about a semi-mysognistic man who cheats on all his girlfriends just doesn’t seem like my cup of tea. While I don’t doubt the book will be much loved by many people, the first half-dozen pages didn’t sway me into buying it.

But Boo’s book went on my to-read list the minute it was announced and I just hadn’t picked it up because of the high price of hardcovers. However, it’s my a birthday, so I feel OK treating myself to it.

I’ll have reviews of both books hopefully soon, along with a review of “Between Shades of Gray” by Ruta Sepetys, which I finished this weekend.

