Always read the book first

by kmdbookworm

Whenever I hear that a book is being made into a movie, it makes me nervous. All real book lovers know most of the time that the book is better than the movie.

But the expectation for something great is always there. This fall/winter will be filled with classic literature inspired films. I’ve mentioned this before, and I have finished “Les Miserables” in anticipation of its newest film adaptation, which hits theaters Dec. 14.

There’s a few more books I need to get through before I see them on screen.

Currently, I am reading “Life of Pi,” which will hit theaters Nov. 21 and is directed by Ang Lee. I’ve read this one before, but since it’s been about 10 years I’m definitely glad I am revisiting it.

“Anna Karenina” is another one that will be told on film this fall. I’ve been meaning to read it for years, so it is next on my list — especially because I JUST realized it’s coming out next week!  Guess I’ll have to power through it, or wait until the movie is out on DVD.

And lastly, “Cloud Atlas,” which I’ve heard great things about and will be in theaters Oct. 26.

I usually plan out what I’m going to read next and then change my mind. But since I want to read the books before the movies hit theaters, I’ll have to stick to my plan.

