Slacking on reading thanks to Netflix

by kmdbookworm

I haven’t updated this in a couple weeks. But I have had a few people ask me if I was still blogging, so that made me happy that people actual read this.

Though I’ve been slacking on this blog and reading in general lately. The reason? TV shows on Netflix streaming — my most recent obsession. This summer I have watched all of “Friday Night Lights,” “Vampire Diaries” and now I’m halfway through “Lost.” So instead of reading in my free time, I’ve been glued to my computer.

After I finish “Lost,” which may take a while because it’s a really, really long show, I’ll put TV show watching on hold until the new fall seasons start and get back to reading.

But right now I am almost done with a really cute book called “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand.” It’s a sweet love story set in England between an older Englishman and a Pakistani woman who lives in his town.

It addresses generational differences as well as cultural differences. I’ll post a review when I have finished it, but I’m really liking it so far. After that, I’m going to dive into the first book in a teen fantasy series, “Divergent” by Veronica Roth, which got a pretty high vote on that NPR teen lit poll.

For my goal of 50 books by Jan. 1, I am still about 30 behind … so I am not too optimistic this will be the year I achieve that goal.

