Summertime reading challenge

by kmdbookworm

It’s getting to be that time of year. The sun beats down, the days are long and lazy and everyone seems to be a bit more relaxed.

And it’s time to start thinking about summer reading. I was thinking of doing some sort of summer reading challenge. Either a personal one or a shared one if I can find people interested in joining me. We can either read some of the same books, or just push each other to reach our reading goals.

Anyone want to join me?

I think I will try to read at least 15 books, which will push me past the half-way mark in my 2012 reading challenge.

I’m not one to read all beach reads in the summer. It’s more a time for me to get reading goals done and finally knock out some books I’ve been meaning to indulge in.

So far for this summer, here’s the plan:

  • Finish the 4th and 5th “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin before the official start of summer on June 20.
  • Continue my annual tradition rereading of “To Kill A Mockingbird”
  • Finish “Les Miserables” after 2 1/2 years of trudging through it

Other books I’m going to put on my summer to-read list include:

  • “The Art of Fielding”
  • “Three Nights in August” (maybe save this one for the month of Aug.!)
  • “Treasure Island”
  • “The Color Purple”
  • “Little Bee”
  • “Flags of Our Fathers”

What are you planning to read this summer?

