The problem with series

by kmdbookworm

I’m still getting through “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin.

Reading a series this long back to back, I’ve realized the one possible problem with epic series: Not every book is going to be perfection. The fourth installment, “A Feast for Crows,” is a chore. Martin switched up narrators and there is far less action. A lot of it must be setting up for the next book, but it’s hard going for me. I’m just not as engrossed with this one as the others.

That’s always a chance you take with a series, I’m now realizing. Some books in it may just not be as great — especially when there are more than three or four. The “Inheritance Cycle” series by Christopher Paolini also suffered from this problem where the third book ended up being a tedious read. There were only four books in that series.

I don’t see this as a knock to Martin’s talent or his series. It’s just something that happens. There can’t be action and excitement 24/7, sometimes an author needs the room to develop new characters and thicken the plot. I’m sure Martin will make it well worth it when the action picks up again.

I’ll get through “A Feast for Crows” soon enough I hope. And according to a friend, the next book is excellent. … Sadly, it’s going to take me another 500 pages to get there.

