Knowing the rules to the game of thrones

by kmdbookworm

Book cover.

My most recent literary obsession the “The Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin.

I read the first book in the series, “Game of Thrones,” before the series by the same name rocketed it into popularity. I was in Ireland, wandered into one of the book stores and just couldn’t decide what to get. A silver paperback set up by the fantasy/sci-fi section caught my eye. It was titled “A Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin, an author I’d never heard of before.

I loved it. But considering the exchange rate and the fact that when studying abroad one should not spend time cooped inside reading, I never read the other books in the series.

Then I saw commercials for the show on HBO a couple years later. Now I am on book 4, and it’s so addicting! Martin’s world is so wonderfully created. The characters are fully developed. Their lives intercross perfectly. This book has all the elements I love. And though it’s sci-fi/fantasy, I think even those who are not fans of the genre would enjoy the books. Basically, in a nut shell, it’s about a land called Westeros and the many characters (men and women) fighting to be crowed ruler of it all.

Just know when you sit down with the first book you’ll probably end up reading all of them in succession, with each one being about 1,000+ pages long.

And the TV show? Excellent. Perfect. Very close to the books, well until the past few episodes, but that just makes it fun to see where HBO is going with it.

