Teen lit is ageless

by kmdbookworm

With the popularity of “Harry Potter,” “Twilight” and most recently “The Hunger Games,” I’ve been following a lot of the debate from readers about whether teen lit is meant only for teens or if it crosses age groups.

I am 24 years old, and I still love teen literature. I probably always will. Maybe, if I really want to call myself a bookworm and avid reader, I should spend my time reading classics and thought-provoking works. But I don’t always.

And maybe the writing in youth lit isn’t as strong or elegant. But just because the writing is simple does not mean the characters or plot have to be simple, too. Many of the themes that youth lit addresses still applies to me, and will for a while. So many contemporary adults novels address marriage, children and divorce. I’m single, many years away from having children and still holding onto the hope I will find someone I can spend the rest of my life with.

But a coming-of-age story, now that I can relate too. Graduating college and being a 20-something, I’m still, I feel, “coming-of-age.”  My place in the world isn’t quite clear yet, the foundation of who I want to be and what I want to do is still being built.

Also, teen lit writers are so much more creative. There’s a freedom to push the boundaries of the imagination, and still weave a wholly believable story. That’s not to say that adult fiction writers have no imagination, but I think teen lit writers works are more fantastical.

And there’s almost always a good romance story, which I am a sucker for.

