A lengthy problem

by kmdbookworm

First off, who’s excited for season two of “Game of Thrones”? I keep hearing about it, seeing trailers and links to articles. It makes me want more now, so much so I am considering popping into a bookstore on my way home and buying the third novel. I promised myself to take a break and read another book — so I started “Bee Season” by Myla Goldberg. But maybe I can read both.

I am determined to read 50 books by January. 50 in a year. Right now I am on No. 5. That’s pathetic.

And the reason is my love of long books, ie every book in the “Song of Ice and Fire” series.

Less than 300 pages? That’s not a book, it’s a short story. 800 pages? Solid.

However, when looking to read 50 books in a year, about a book a week, 800-page books are a lengthy problem. They take a long time to read, and often need more attention because the longer the book the more characters and plotlines.

I don’t really have a solution but to read shorter books in between the longer ones. Which I really don’t own many of.

Anyone have suggestions for reads under 400 pages? Leave a comment below with your favorites!

My next important duty: A library card!

 

