“Reader’s block”

by kmdbookworm

I have a conundrum. Sort of.

I don’t know what to read next. I’ll call it reader’s block.

I just finished the second novel in George R.R. Martin’s hugely popular “Song of Ice and Fire” series. At about 800 pages a book, I am not sure if I should plow ahead and read the next three or take a break between them.

I also have “All the King’s Men” sitting next to me on my night stand. I grabbed this one from my bookshelf because I recently moved to D.C. after landing a job working for a Congressional publication, so what better read would there be for me right now than one that is awash in politics? The downside: I tried reading the book a while back and just could not get into it. I am not even sure why. I guess I didn’t connect with the characters, or maybe it was the writing style. Either way if I truly like a book I don’t usually put it aside before finishing it.

Thus, I am not really sure where to go from here. So, I am asking you dear readers to help a girl out. Do I continue with George R.R. Martin? Give “King’s Men” a second go? Or is there something else you would suggest I pick up?

Let me know in the comments below!

