Book No. 2 done, now on to No. 3

by kmdbookworm

I haven’t been doing splendidly with reading yet this year. I created a seven book challenge for this semester of college to persuade me to read more — and I haven’t been keeping up with it.

But the recent snowy days here in State College have inspired me to curl up on the couch and start reading again.

I just finished book No. 2, “The Widow of the South” by Robert Hicks. I liked it more than I expected, even though halfway through it turned a little stranger than I expected. And at first I didn’t like the main character Carrie McGavock. But she grew on me. I never loved her, but liked her well enough.

It was also one of those faster reads. A simple read that did make you reflect, but kept your attention and moved fairly quickly.

Now I’m on to “Let the Great World Spin” by Colum McCann. I’ve heard great things about this book and am really excited to dive into it. It’s the story of a man who walked a tightrope between the Twin Towers (which is a true story) and how the lives of those watching him intertwined.

So, I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from book No. 2 and then curl up with No. 3.

“I had been drawn to him as an idea, but had come to love him as a man. I had come to love him as a woman loves a man whom she can never have. An impossible man. An unreachable man. A man of infinite possibility.”

