NYTimes to charge for online access

by kmdbookworm

The problem I have with this [http://is.gd/6s13l] is whether I would want to pay for both the Sunday print NYTimes and the Web site.

I understand why the Times would need to charge its users for the Web site. As sales in print decline the publication has to rely very much on sales of ads, and while Web sites can feature ads I feel like it would bring in less revenue. Also, many of the ads on the Web site are really bothersome lately as they pop out at you or make the page scroll down as you’re trying to read headlines and see what is on the front page of the site.

However, for graduation I was going to ask my Dad for a subscription to the Sunday NYTimes. I like having the ink and print version to read in the morning with breakfast and a cup of coffee. Just like in the good old days. The Sunday NYTimes is great, especially because you can get some of it on Saturday in a special Saturday version and then the rest on Sunday. It includes different sections, NYTimes Magazine and my favorite, the book review pull out.

But if I have to pay to read the NYTimes online, I’m not sure I want to have to shell out extra cash to get it delivered to my doorstep on Saturday and Sunday mornings. But maybe, if the NYTimes is smart about this, there can be some special packages so that if readers want both print and online access they can do so at a discounted price. And one of those special packages could be access to online content and the Sunday print edition — for a reasonable price, of course.

I think as the newspaper industry continues to struggle, this is heading in the right direction. As long as news Web sites don’t charge exorbitant amounts, it is only fair for them to do so.  It will keep major newspapers from going under and the profits made from the Web sites can allow news organizations to continue providing print newspapers.

And while there will always be a way to get around paying for the sites because there will always be places online to get the news for free, as long as the newspapers strive to produce original and thorough coverage, I would be willing to pay to get the news from a source I love, trust and have been reading for many years.

