Something undiscovered between the pages

by kmdbookworm

For my English/Women’s Studies class this semester the theme of many of the books is dystopia science fiction written by female authors. Oh how I love this class. The books we have read and are going to read are not ones I would usually pick up (except for the Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, which I’ve now read twice). But I haven’t disliked any of the books we’ve read so far. They certainly aren’t all on the top of my favorite books list, but each one has been interesting and captivating in its own way.

We read Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler, Midnight Robber by Nalo Hopkinson, The Gate to Women’s Country by Sheri Tepper, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

And we’re currently reading The Powerbook by Jeanette Winterson. And while after the first chapter I was not a fan of the plot at all, I’m really starting to love this book. It’s a bit hard to explain the plot, but it’s all short “stories” about love. They’re not true stories, but ones invented by the author for others through e-mail. But what I like about the book is the writing. It’s just beautiful, eloquent, captivating and, my favorite — quotable. It’s filled with conversations and quotes that I can relate to and that are written beautifully.

It just proves that even if something is weird at the start, or falls under a genre you wouldn’t normally read, try it. You never know what treasures you may uncover between the pages.

