For life’s not a paragraph

by kmdbookworm

I had this irresistable urge to read poems by e.e. cummings a few weeks ago, but I left my book of his works at home. And it is the only one I’ve seen at the bookstore on campus and at Webster’s. But I took a chance and checked out the poetry section because I was in the bookstore anyway. And they had a different book of his poems.

 It has quite a few repeats from the book I already have, but I was in need of it so I bought the book. It’s great. And I feel like poetry is almost a lost art. People don’t walk around reading poetry books (that I’ve seen), I rarely hear people talk about poetry and I am sure if you asked people who their favorite poet was they probably wouldn’t have an answer.

Actually, Thursday was National Poetry Day, though I’m sure not many people even knew that. Which is too bad because poetry is a beautiful use of the written word.

Because it’s not all Shakespeare and Emily Dickenson. There are all sorts of poets, just like there are all sorts of novelists. So if you’re looking for a more modern poetry book (with a splash of older poems) check out “Good Poems” a collection by Garrison Keillor. It’s a great collection of poems that can relate to anyone.

