Juggling act

by kmdbookworm

Sometimes I read more than one book at a time. Maybe not always the best idea, but I’m use to juggling so many things at once that reading two books (or more) isn’t such a great feat.

I am almost done with “Cannery Road,” it’s good but lacking in a solid plot and also has no romance in it. And what can I say, I’m a sucker for a good romance entwined into the plot.

So I’m also reading “Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood. But it doesn’t count, sort of because it is for class, but mostly because I’ve already read it a few years ago. And I did enjoy it, though parts of it make me mad. I still don’t believe women in America would ever submit to what happens in the book. It’s placed in the future and I don’t want to be a book spoiler, but women do not have the same rights or roles that they do today. 

I also picked up a new book in the local used bookstore here, Webster’s. Now I should just steer clear of bookstores because I always find one I want to buy — and can’t help buying it. Even though I have too many I have not yet read. Anyway, it’s called “The Inheritance of Loss” by Kiran Desai and I’m really enjoying it. But I’ll try to keep this post short(ish) and save a description of it for later.

