Keeping track

by kmdbookworm

I am a total bookworm, so I have a journal where I keep track of all the books I read. I started it the summer before my freshman year of college and have never not kept up with it. I track what I read from May to May (school year to school year). Looking at it is interesting, because it shows how much time I devote each year to reading. So far freshman year is winning (@ 38 books) because I read a ton of books that summer and it was probably my least busy year school work wise. And sophomore year was the worst (@ 19), which I chalk up to a busy schedule being an editor at the Collegian.

This year so far stands at 18, which isn’t bad at all. Currently I am reading “Cannery Road” by John Steinbeck. Steinbeck is one of my favorite authors and I am enjoying the book so far, but I like his longer novels better. “Grapes of Wrath” and “East of Eden” are two of my favorites.

“Cannery Road” is a novel based during the Great Depression about a street lined with sardine fisheries in Monterey, Calif. The book has Steinbeck’s usual array of unique characters and basically is just a story of their lives, delving deeper into the character’s personalities and interactions and less into actual events.

